Our Board

Chris Gudgeon

Chair (Interim)
Chris Gudgeon has been involved in property investment, development and construction in New Zealand for more than 30 years. He was previously Chief Executive of Kiwi Property Group and Capital Properties NZ Ltd.

Chris is a director of Crown Infrastructure Partners and Argosy Property, a Fellow of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors and is a past President of Property Council New Zealand.

Ngarimu Blair

Trust Representative Director
Named the Inaugural Emerging Māori Business Leader by the Auckland University’s Business School, Ngarimu Blair is the Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Trust representative for Whai Rawa.

A geographer, with over 15 years’ experience in advancing a range of iwi issues in Auckland City, he is regularly called upon by the media and political influencers.

Ngarimu is a Director for Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research, as well as Member of the Board of Trustees at Sir Peter Blake Trust, on the Board of the National Science Challenge, and Chair of the Settlement Protection Team.

He is passionate about Auckland tribal histories, kaitiakitanga, and taking care of our environment for a better New Zealand.

Tanya Povey

Whānau Director
Tanya Povey joins the Board with a wealth of knowledge and experience to add to the team, having spent several years in leadership positions within non-governmental organisations and Trusts.

Tanya has spent much of her career in the health sector and is focussed on delivering positive outcomes for whānau.

Jim Quinn

Independent Director
Jim is an experienced director, chief executive and executive manager. He is currently chair at Payments New Zealand, ComplyPro Ltd and SmartCo Ltd. He is chair and a shareholder in Tubman Heating and a director at Brosnan Ltd and Eastland Group. He is also a partner in QLG Advisory. His governance experience includes past Chair of MCom, Lyttleton Port, Ngāi Tahu Tainui GoBus, Ubiquitome Ltd and Intilecta.

His executive career included being the inaugural CEO of KiwiRail, Chief of Strategy at Auckland Council, and CEO of Express Couriers joint venture between New Zealand Post and DHL. He has had General Management roles in New Zealand Post, Advantage Group (EFTPOS Industry), WEL Energy, QED Software and New Zealand Couriers.

Dane Grey

Whānau Director
Dane Grey's professional career is in marketing management, property acquisition, and property development.

With a passion for his iwi and the drive to enhance commercial outcomes, Dane brings that inherent balance in the mahi that Whai Rawa is tasked with.

As the inaugural appointee of the Whai Rawa future director, Dane is the embodiment of investing in our people.

Ed Sims

Independent Director
Born in South Wales and a graduate of Oxford University ,Ed has enjoyed a 35-year career in transportation, tourism, aviation, logistics and hospitality.
Since arriving in Aotearoa in 2001, he has served in commercial and operational executive roles at Air New Zealand before his appointment as CEO of the country’s Air Traffic Control state-owned enterprise Airways in 2011.
In 2017, Ed and his whānau left for Canada to take up the CEO position at WestJet, the country’s second largest airline. Whilst there Ed worked particularly closely with the indigenous First Nations people of Alberta with specific focus on education and employment.

On his return to Tāmaki Makaurau in 2022, Ed resumed a governance career that had previously included roles on NZ Police, the Office of the Auditor General and as Chair of the Global Air Navigation Service Organisation CANSO. He is now on the Board of KiwiRail and serves as a Safety Advisor to the Board of Virgin Australia in Brisbane.

Future Directors

Nancy Purvis

Future Director

James Grey

Future Director

One of the most rewarding aspects of Whai Rawa’s role is the Future Director programme. Our Future Director programme has gone from strength to strength, allowing the future of Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei to put themselves forward for the opportunity to sit alongside the Whai Rawa Board for a term of two years. 

Read more about Nancy and James' appointment here

Former Future Directors

2020-2022: Faiz Salim and Otene Hopa

2017-2019: Stacey Perillo and Te Arepa Morehu

2015-2017: Dane Grey





View on Map